That time of year again

Published February 12, 2014 by kemeah

So it’s that time of year again where my work does their annual fitness challenge.

Bleh

Don’t get me wrong, I actually enjoy working out. I love dancing, weight lifting, martial arts, long walks, yoga, etc.

I just hate putting numbers to it and making it a competition. I’ve been called fat plenty of times, I’ve been afraid to eat in front of my coworkers because they always had some snarky comment to make about what ever it was, I’ve been told my best isn’t good enough because it doesn’t match someone else’s, and I’ve collapsed at work because I decided not to eat. I hate when people get so caught up in an idea of perfection that they have to put others down to feel better about themselves. 

Then why participate you ask? 

-My coworkers are doing it and I want to cheer them on

-I’m working out anyway, I might as well write it down

-Between my fitness eval and the con I’m going to in a few months, its not going to hurt me to step it up a notch.

-I’m finally able to do a wider range of exercises with my physical therapy (still can’t run though).

Well, that being said, if anyone needs a cheerleader/positive motivator to cheer them on for their goal, I have to use my myfitnesspal account for the competition so feel free to add me. My username is: kge520. 

Well, thanks for putting up with me complaining for a few minutes. Here’s a pic of me doing a closet cosplay of the pink power ranger to make up for it:

Image

2 comments on “That time of year again

  • Leave a Reply

