Casual/closet cosplay

Published June 8, 2014 by kemeah

A friend of my hubby’s birthday party was yesterday. It was DC/Justice League  themed, the guy’s wife wanted everyone to dress to the theme. We apparently followed instructions too well:

 

Image

Image

 

Nothing fancy for us, (You my have seen my Pink Power Ranger outfit). I’ve always called this closet cosplay, as in you pull regular clothes out of your closet and BAM! cosplay. In this case Batgirl and Red Robin. I found thought, that if I say closet cosplay I get snotty comments like “Why closet cosplay? I cosplay in the open”. <—- Clearly missing the point, and why I’ve stopped trying to talk to people irl. So, I’ve also heard this called casual cosplay, or my hubby’s work clothes.

Anyway, we were a bit more dressed up than the rest of the guests, but it was a big hit. I may add a wig to mine and use it for one of the small local cons they have around here. They gave us goodie bags for coming to the party. His wife made sure I got the one wit this in it:

Image

“I am the terror that flaps in the night.”

Yes, its a rubber duckie dressed as batman, but I automatically thought:

Image

Let’s get dangerous!

Leave a Reply

